Personal tools
A Network of Excellence forging the
Multilingual Europe Technology Alliance

META Prize: The Winners

The META Prize is awarded by the META Technology Council to outstanding products, services or personal contributions supporting the European Multilingual Information Society.


META Prize

  • Jill Evans – for her supportive work regarding the European Parliament report “Language equality in the digital age”, published in 2018.

Honorary META Prize

  • Algirdas Saudargas – for his continued support of Multilingual Europe and the META-NET initiative.


META Prize


META Prize

  • InterACT – For outstanding and innovative contributions to cross-lingual and multilingual communication technologies.


META Prize

  • BabelNet – for groundbreaking work in overcoming language barriers through a multilingual lexicalised semantic network and ontology making use of heterogeneous data sources. The resulting encyclopedic dictionary provides concepts and named entities lexicalised in many languages, enriched with semantic relations.


META Prize

  • The Rosetta Foundation – for their groundbreaking work enabling the global conversation in communities and social localization, making information available to individuals irrespective of their social status, linguistic or cultural background.


META Prize


1. META Prize

  • Moses – The prize was awarded for exemplary and innovative contributions in statistical machine translation.

2. META Prize

  • Voxalead, Exalead – was awarded for outstanding software to provide video scanning and transcription services.